Lehrstuhl für Fertigungstechnologie, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg



Investigation of residual stress related elementary processes in cold forged components in the manufacturing and operating phase (DFG - SPP 2013)



Project Status: Active

Members


Cooperative project with the Chair of Applied Mechanics

 

The residual stress state of forged components has a significant influence on the operational behaviour. Up to now, basic knowledge regarding the development and the targeted use of forming induced residual stresses does not exist. In this context, the research project focuses on the identification of relevant process parameters on the residual stress state of cold forged components made of steel, the investigation of possibilities for a defined adjustment and optimization of residual stresses and the use of forming induced residual stresses to influence the operational behaviour. In particular, knowledge on the development and relaxation of residual stress is to be generated in the first phase.

For a detailed numerical analysis of residual stress formation at the microscopic level, a "virtual magnifying glass" coupled via subroutines is integrated into the macroscopic process simulation. By means of a strain rate dependent and gradient extended crystal plasticity, grain formations and densities of the kinematically necessary dislocations responsible for inherent distortions are calculated. In addition to formation, relaxation of residual stresses is also investigated. In both the formation and relaxation phases, simulation and experiment are compared in order to determine the prediction quality of the numerical approaches.

The results obtained are used to influence the operating behavior in a targeted manner, whereby the first phase focuses on the stability of the transformation-induced residual stresses. In later phases, the residual stresses will also be used to regulate cyclic strength.

The Project is part of the DFG priority programm SPP2013 "Targeted Use of Forming Induced Internal Stresses in Metal Components"

 

jt SPP2013 englisch


Research Groups


Letztes Update: 28.08.2018

Lehrstuhl für Fertigungstechnologie, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg



Untersuchung eigenspannungsrelevanter Elementarvorgänge bei fließgepressten Bauteilen in der Herstellungs- und Betriebsphase (DFG - SPP 2013)



Projektstatus: laufend

Mitarbeiter


 

Eigenspannungen in umformtechnisch hergestellten Bauteilen haben einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf deren Einsatzverhalten. Bislang fehlen grundlegende Kenntnisse zur Entstehung und gezielten Nutzung von umforminduzierten Eigenspannungen. Das vorliegende Forschungsvorhaben verfolgt vor diesem Hintergrund die übergeordnete Zielsetzung, eigenspannungsrelevante Prozessparameter beim Kaltfließpressen von Stahlbauteilen zu identifizieren, verfahrensseitige Möglichkeiten zur gezielten Einstellung und Optimierung zu erforschen und die umforminduzierten Eigenspannungen für eine gezielte Beeinflussung des Betriebsverhaltens zu nutzen. Insbesondere soll in der ersten Phase Wissen zur Eigenspannungsentstehung und -relaxation generiert werden.

Für eine detaillierte numerische Analyse der Eigenspannungsentstehung auf mikroskopischer Ebene wird eine über Subroutinen gekoppelte „virtuelle Lupe“ in die makroskopische Prozesssimulation integriert. Durch eine dehnratenabhängige und gradientenerweiterte Kristallplastizität werden Korndeformationen und Dichten der für Eigenverzerrungen verantwortlichen kinematisch notwendigen Versetzungen berechnet. Neben der Ausbildung wird so auch die Relaxation der Eigenspannungen untersucht. Sowohl in der Entstehungs- als auch in der Relaxationsphase erfolgt ein Abgleich von Simulation und Experiment im Sinne einer Beurteilung der Prognosequalität der numerischen Ansätze.

Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden zur gezielten Beeinflussung des Betriebsverhaltens genutzt, wobei in der ersten Phase die Beständigkeit der umforminduzierten Eigenspannungen im Vordergrund steht. In späteren Phasen sollen die Eigenspannungen auch zur Steuerung der zyklischen Festigkeit genutzt werden.

Das Projekt ist Teil des DFG Schwerpunktprogramms SPP2013 "Gezielte Nutzung umformtechnisch induzierter Eigenspannungen in metallischen Bauteilen".

 

jt SPP2013 deutsch klein

 


Forschungsgruppen


Letztes Update: 09.01.2018